Beautiful Jakarta Days from My Window

Many people that I’ve talked to have a preconception about Jakarta as a city with bad air. Most days, that is true to some extent and it’s a common sight to see people wearing face masks in hopes of filtering the smog-filled air they breathe in.

I would think the major source of the air pollution is from vehicles; there are just SO MANY vehicles on the roads – from small cars to big cars (especially humongous cars!), motorbikes, mini buses, huge buses, etc. Anything that basically has wheels and can move can be found on the streets. The government has initiated some good stuff though like ‘Sunday Car Free Day’ in certain areas – to encourage less reliance on cars and thus improve air quality. Oh what a difference it makes, really.

My apartment has an unblocked view of the city and I love looking out of my window at different times throughout the day. Some days, the air miraculously clears up and I see a very beautiful Jakarta. I would like to share some pictures of this city that I’m growing to like and enjoy day by day:

IMG_6246[1]

Can you spot the mountains at the far end?

IMG_6244[1]

Panaromic view of the city.

IMG_6267[1]

Beautiful pink sky overhead.

IMG_6747[1]

Another day of mountain view.

IMG_6753[1]

Majestic.

 Every time I spot the grand mountains standing tall in the far distance (which is a rare occurrence), I can’t help but feel thankful for all that life has given me.

Two bible verses come to mind:

“He who forms the mountains, who creates the wind, and who reveals his thoughts to mankind, who turns dawn to darkness, and treads on the heights of the earth — the LORD God Almighty is his name.” (Amos 4:13 )

“I will lift up my eyes to the mountains; From where shall my help come? My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth.” (Psalm 121:1-2)

My friend, Adeline, is coming to spend the weekend with me and I can’t wait to see her. She should be arriving anytime soon now. Have a good weekend everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

