Family Day + Watching Movies in Jakarta

Instead of sleeping in on Saturday, Agent D and I went down for Family Day 2016 at his workplace. It was a morning of fun and games (some of which were retardedly cute! I couldn’t stop laughing at Agent D), coupled with entertaining performances and food. The event was a nice platform for me to get to know Agent D’s colleagues better and their spouses too.

I caught sight of a photo booth at the event and my eyes lit up at once. “Pleaaassse can we take a photo?” I asked Agent D. He signed in resignation and allowed me to drag him to the booth. Sadly, Agent D doesn’t quite enjoy taking photos as much as I do (I jump at any opportunity to take photos heh).

IMG_7023[1]

Agent D and I at Family Day 2016.

‘Twas was a sweltering day and I think I got 2 shades darker. :/ (Note to self: HAVE TO pack sunblock in my bag for future outdoor excursions.) In Jakarta, I seldom find myself outdoors; I usually go from mall to mall in a car/ taxi. Even if the mall I want to go to is within walking distance, I usually cab because there are no proper walking pavements/ cars don’t always obey traffic lights which is hazardous/ the air is not too ideal for walking.

Later in the evening, Agent D and I decided to catch Kung Fu Panda 3. It had been some time since we last caught a movie together and I was glad he suggested it.

By the way, movies in Jakarta are REALLLLLY AFFORDABLE. Both weekday and weekend standard tickets are 1/3 the price (!!!) of that in my home country. And the cinemas are really nice and clean as well.

IMG_5443

Standard weekDAY movie ticket costs IDR 30K (about 3 dollars back home).

IMG_7024[1]

Standard weekEND movie ticket costs IDR 50K (about 5 dollars back home).

In Jakarta, it is possible to get a luxurious cinema experience without burning a hole in your pocket. WHOOOOP. Cinema XXI offers Premiere movies which are akin to sitting in first class (versus economy class) in an aeroplane. Here are some of the deluxe features:

  • Exclusivity – Exclusive access to premiere lounge/ restaurants and each theatre only has 20-30 seats.
  • Great service – Personalized concierge experience when purchasing tickets, waiters on stand-by inside the theatre ready to take food or drinks orders.
  • Comfort – Reclining seats with foot rests and blankets (THE BEST PART).

Blitz Megaplex has velvet suites where one can even watch movies on private big BEDS, complete with pillows and blankets. Both Cinema XXI’s premiere tickets and Blitz Megaplex’s velvet suites tickets cost about the SAME PRICE as a standard ticket back home (i.e. they’re really not that expenive). SO…if you’re living in Jakarta/ here for the weekend, you HAVE TO watch a movie at one of these places for the experience.

Anyhow…back to  Kung Fu Panda 3. Both Agent D and I found it better than the previous installment but still not as good as the very first one. It didn’t require any brain power (which was good because we were both brain dead post dinner), and was very good-humoured and colourful. We both had a good laugh watching it and I was glad Agent D was able to relax for a while. 🙂

Today after church service, Agent D and I decided to check out the restaurant at Artotel, a boutique hotel at Thamrin. I’ll blog more about our dining experience there tomorrow!

Blessed Sunday lovelies! ❤ ❤ ❤

PS: I’m so glad Sundays are also my cooking rest days. DONT HAVE TO COOK YAYAYYYYYY.

Leave a Reply

