Cafe Series: Benedict for All Poached Egg Lovers

Another establishment by the UNION group, Benedict is a gourmet café serving all-day brunch (think eggs benedict and the likes). I’ve been to Benedict about 4 times so far with Agent D/ friends and last Friday was my 5th time – primarily to take advantage of their ‘Quick Lunch’ special from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. on weekdays.

The restaurant cafe is of a nice cozy size and comes complete with a mini bar and live kitchen. Its semi-rustic décor exudes a homey and vintagey feel. There are sofas at the side where you can just sink into with a book. I like the fact that the restaurant bothers to put different arrangements of pretty flowers on the tables. Really brightens up the place!

IMG_7086[1]

Display shelf separating the smoking and non-smoking section.

Being an all-day brunch place, one can find all kinds of eggs cooked in various styles on the menu – scotch eggs (so gooooood), eggs in jars, poached eggs (super duper runny), sunny side up eggs, etc. COMFORT FOOD i.e. my kind of food.

Eggs aside, the menu also offers a good range of Western cuisine, Mexican cuisine as well as Asian-Western fusion cuisine (which I really like!). All their cakes are homemade. 🙂

IMG_7087[1]

Homemade cakes on display.

When I first went with Agent D, we ordered an “Eggs Benedict Florentine” (IDR 85k), “Japanese Benedict” (IDR 80K) and “Power Berry” (IDR 50K) to share. Agent D was still hungry after that (not surprising haha) so we ordered a “Korean Bowl” (IDR 90K) which turned out to be somesort of  fusion bibimbap. After wiping out everything, I was 110% full and Agent D told me he was only at 80%. Whyyyyyyyyyy does he not grow fat while I’m putting on a double chin. Life’s unfair.

IMG_7094[1]

Florentine Benny, Jap Benny, and Power Berry.

I really enjoyed the “Eggs Benedict Florentine” – the challah bread was soft and fluffy, the poached egg was cooked to runny perfection (the moment my knife cut into it, everything came oo000zing out), and adding tobiko (flying fish roe) on top of the hollandaise sauce was THE BOMB. I liked the sauteed spinach in between, which seemingly neutralized all the other high-cholesterol-unhealthy-stuff.

The “Japanese Benedict” was another heavenly combination of poached eggs, shiitake rice (at the bottom), well-seasoned chicken hamburg, sauteed horenso, and hollandaise sauce. The ingredients worked well together and balanced each other out just right. Again, the side salad was probably meant to reduce all the fats and cholesterol heh.

Our “Power Berry” smoothie had hazelnut milk added into it which amazingly worked! I convinced myself that it was a…erm…”healthy” drink since there were so many berries blended into it. Like real haha.

All my good friends can attest to this — I’m a pretty boring person when it comes to food. Once I find something that I like at a particular place, I’ll order it again and again. And again. And again. No spirit of adventurousness whatsoever. :/ So…for my next few visits to Benedict, I did not take any more pictures. Why? Because I ordered the same few things. 🙂

So anyway on Friday, Ivana and I decided to check out their Quick Lunch promotion. You can see the options offered from the menu above (1 main + 1 dessert + 1 drink = IDR 120K). VERY WORTHWHILE. Perfect for a $$$-saving person like me. *YAY*

IMG_7089[1]

Hungry happy diners.

I opted for the “Bucatini Carbonara” whilst Ivana got herself the “Korean Bowl”. My “Bucatini Carbonara” tasted okay, nothing out of this world. Apart from the usual crumbled bacon, the chef also added pork belly. I absolutely loveee pork belly, especially the fats in between. The fattier, the better. Agent D always frowns at me when he seems me devouring the juicy fats haha.

IMG_7090[1]

Bucatini Carbonara.

Ivana’s “Korean Bowl” (the same one that Agent D ordered last time) consisted of fried chicken, chilli fried rice, 7 minutes soft egg, cauliflower, and furikake. According to Ivana, it was quite nice! I remember it being a little on the spicy side from last time.

IMG_7091[1]

Korean Bowl.

For our complimentary desserts, I had a “Ban-A-Tella Crumble”, which is esentially a BANANA and NUTELLA crumble tart (duh). It was pretty decent – well I guess it’s hard to go wrong with moist banana and nutella. Can’t beat my favourite banana pie from Dona Manis Cake Shop back home though. :/

IMG_7092[1]

Ban-A-Tella Crumble.

Ivana’s snickers cheesecake was a surprisingly nice combination! The cheesecake was moist and light; the snickers (on the top) and cookie base (at the bottom) made it less jelak. The taste of snickers brought back memories of my school days where I used to buy snickers/mars bar from the vending machine almost every day. My kind of energy boost in those days.

IMG_7093[1]

Snickers Cheesecake.

All in all, we had our tummies filled well without burning a hole in our pocket. I heard from B1 that Benedict’s “Banoffee pie”  (one of my FAVE UK desserts) is really good stuff! Sadly, it wasn’t on the menu on Friday. That’ll be my next conquest!

Benedict
Grand Indonesia East Mall LG
Jl. M.H. Thamrin No. 1
Jakarta Pusat 10310

One thought on “Cafe Series: Benedict for All Poached Egg Lovers

  1. Pingback: Cafe Series: Benedict for All Poached Egg Lovers | Just an Opinion

Leave a Reply

