Overnight Oats: Easy, Healthy, SO GOOD

IMG_7124[1]

Overnight oats: wholesome and yummmmmy.

I’ve noticed that overnight oats is all the rage these days — from instagram posts and pop-up stalls all over. I always thought there was some complex process involved in making it (fermentation perhaps?!)…UNTIL Sarah corrected my misconception and told me it was super duper easy!

So I decided to try it out and true enough, it didn’t take me more than 5 minutes (!!). The night before, I simply added the oats, milk, and toppings into a glass jar and put them into the refrigerator. I rolled out of bed the next morning and TA-DAH!…a delicious and wholesome breakfast was ready. 🙂 TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE. Why didn’t I discover the wonders of overnight oats earlier (thanks Sarah!!).

Here’s some easy step-by-step instructions for making overnight oats in a jar:

1. Add a serving of rolled oats (about 4 tablespoons) into a glass jar. Some recipes recommend adding 1 tablespoon of chia seeds for more nutrition (omega-3s and protein).

IMG_7119[1]

Rolled oats in a glass jar.

2. Add milk to the glass jar, ensuring that the oats are well-covered. I usually use full cream fresh milk but soy milk, almond milk, chocolate milk, etc works too. The milk will get soaked up by the oats overnight.

IMG_7120[1]

Milk added to rolled oats.

3. Add toppings to the milk and oats. For my no-frills overnight oats, I simply add toasted muesli/granola (a blend of nuts, seeds, raisins, dried banana, grated coconut and dried mango) bought off the shelves. Additional toppings include fresh or dried blueberries, raspberries, banana, apples, grapes, greek yogurt, plain yogurt, etc (the list is endless!). You can add the toppings either the night before or the next morning – depending on how soggy you want them.

IMG_7121[1]

Two different types of muesli/granola added to the rolled oats.

4. Pile on a sweetener (optional). My favourite options are manuka honey, blueberry jam and kaya (which reminds me of home). I’ve also tried pineapple jam which my mom bought for me. Other sweeteners include maple syrup, peanut butter (sinful), nutella (doubly sinfulll), etc.

5. Refine the overnight oats with spices like vanilla, cocoa, cinnamon, etc. I do not have any spices at home so I usually skip this step.

Place the lid back on and pop the glass jar into the refrigerator. Let it rest in the fridge for at least 8 hours so all the milk can be absorbed. Now all you have to do is get a good night’s rest and breakfast will be waiting for you the next morning! 🙂 Remember to shake everything up in the jar with the lid on before digging in.

IMG_7127[1]

Enjoying my overnight oats in my half-awake state before rushing off to church. YUUUUM.

Agent D swears by eating cooked oats every morning before going to work. Prior to my wonderful discovery of overnight oats, I always had to wake up slighly earlier to boil water and cook his oats on the stove. After having it cool down, I’ll then add milk, honey, muesli/granola and fruits. The entire process takes me about 15 to 20 minutes.

As of now, I’m looking forward to sleeping in more (Agent D can simply get his ready-to-eat breakfast from the fridge himself!). Whooooop.

Have a blessed Sunday everyone! xx

2 thoughts on “Overnight Oats: Easy, Healthy, SO GOOD

Leave a Reply

