A Part of Happy Celebrations

Being in Jakarta, one of the more difficult things for me is missing happy celebrations back home. I can only look at photos posted on Facebook/Instagram, thinking about all the fun I’ve missed out and wishing I was there. Even if I were to crop my face into the photos, it wouldn’t be the same. :/

Anyhow, I am glad that I was able to be a part of + witness a dear friend’s proposal last Saturday. It wasn’t deliberately coordinated but I just so happened to be in SG that weekend. And boy was it sweeeeeet!

A few days before the proposal, Juli, Est and myself helped Shaun with some of the preparations.

Shaun was quite nervous so we ran through his lines and the proposal sequence with him.

IMG_7920

Practising with Mr. Sheep.

Thankfully everything went according to plan. Was quite afraid I’d give it away through a slip of the tongue (happens quite often with me) or accidentally type the wrong thing in the wrong WhatsApp group. We somehow managed to lure Adeline to the proposal venue on the pretext that we were having a get-together since I was back.

IMG_7975

Big awww.

TEAM PROPOSAL — SUCCESS! ❤ ❤ ❤

And of course, photo-taking is a must with every celebratory occasion.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Yesterday, I got to meet up with my JC friends and we celebrated the April babies’ birthdays. Nothing beats being in the company of good ol’ friends.

IMG_8003

Blessed birthday Sean and Fiona!!!


Celebrations aside, I’m almost down to running my last errand before I head back to Jakarta. There’s always so much to see to when I come back — buy food products for cooking, settle bills, stock up on vitamins/ supplements, visit the dentist, go for health check-up, ETC ETC.

So I FINALLY made a new set of retainers and did my fitting last Friday. Have been procrastinating to get it done since last year. My current one is in such a bad state – the plastic is degenerating and there are holes all over (dentist says I grind my teeth at night). I literally have to hide my retainers away when guests come to my home and use the toilet.

I’ve not been very diligent with wearing my retainers EVERY SINGLE NIGHT and my teeth have sadly shifted. They’re no longer as neat as they used to be and my upper left front tooth is now a lil’ buck-like. 😦

IMG_7946

My teeth mould.

My dentist gave me the mould of my teeth to keep as a souvenir. How kind of him. It’s now sitting above my bed, reminding me every night, “WEAR YOUR RETAINERS DEB” !!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

