Volunteering in Jakarta Update: Kampung Kids

Can’t believe close to 9 months have gone by since I started volunteering at Kampung kids! I documented my initial thoughts on volunteering in Jakarta here: Volunteering in Jakarta: Kampung Kids | thediplowifey.

Looking back, I’ve learnt so much from the kids. They don’t have much yet are one of the most carefree around. While I teach them how to read and write in English, they’ve taught me so much more beyond the four walls of the classroom. 🙂

IMG_8222

Playing with paints in the classroom.

Of late, apart from teaching the children letters of the English alphabet and key vocabulary words + working on their penmanship, we have started doing art with them (thanks to Dianne who volunteers with me and is a real art genius!).

One art lesson we exposed them to watercolours. Dianne came out with the idea of painting the underside of their hands and putting together all their hand prints to produce a piece of artwork – a signboard for their classroom.

IMG_8220

Cute lil’ palm!

Having never touched paints before (despite them being 5-7 years of age), the children were very precarious about having their palms painted. When we asked for a volunteer, hardly anyone raised their hands.

We started with the daring ones, and slowly the more timid ones also came up to have their palms painted.

IMG_8221

Children with their drawing blocks and signature hand prints (for them to take home).

Here’s a picture of the beautiful art piece, a product of joint effort by all the kids. It’s now hung up in the front of their classroom. 🙂 🙂 🙂

IMG_8223

Lovely piece of artwork comprising the children’s hand prints.

Another art lesson, we pre-cut eye masks for the children and had them design their very own masks. (Many of the kids were into superheroes like Batman and Spiderman who wore masks.)

Here are some pictures of the kids in action:

IMG_8493

Luky designing his Batman mask (he’s wearing Batman on his shirt!)

IMG_8494

Hard at work.

One thing I’ve noticed about the kampung children is their willingness to share the little they have (be it crayons, pencils, erasers, etc). Even if they had only 2 pencils in their pencil case, they would happily loan the other to their friend without a pencil. These sweet gestures often brought a smile to my heart.

Here’s one of all our mini superheroes (in their own rights) posing for a picture. Aren’t they just so adorable? ❤ ❤ ❤

IMG_8495

Kampung kids superheroes.

My volunteering at Kampung kids (and my ladies bible study group) is on a hold for the next few weeks because of the mid-year school holidays. Crossing my fingers the children won’t forget all the letters and words we’ve taught them thus far!

Because next week is the Lebaran period in Jakarta, practically everyone I know (friends, Agent D’s colleagues, my driver, my helper, etc etc) is out of Jakarta. I heard it is going to be super duper quiet next week with GOOD TRAFFIC WITHOUT JAMS. Whoooop can’t wait!

[Wikipedia: Lebaran is the popular name for Eid al-Fitr in Indonesia and is one of the major national holidays in the country. Lebaran holiday officially lasts for two days in the Indonesian calendar, but the government usually declares a few days before and after the Lebaran as a bank holiday. Hence many Indonesians take this time to travel out of the country or return to their hometowns.)

IMG_8798

Selamat Lebaran with this Ramadan-themed Starbucks cup!!

Am so looking forward to the slow(er) week ahead.

xxx

2 thoughts on “Volunteering in Jakarta Update: Kampung Kids

  1. Thanks for sharing. I loved to hear your story. I volunteered there 7 years ago and would wander down there as lived close by. I loved taking my kids train tracks and duplo to play with! Sometimes I would take my 5 year old daughter too. Special memories. The children and their mums were so lovely. Claire

    Like

    • Hello Claire! Thanks for dropping by and leaving a note. Indeed, the children and their moms are super lovely and friendly. A great joy to interact with! I’m taking pictures as I go by to keep these memories forever. Hope you are well, wherever you are now. 🙂
      – Deborah

      Like

Leave a Reply

