My One Year ‘MRS’ Mark.

Can’t believe a whole year has flown by since Agent D and I said our “I dos” in the presence of God and all our loved ones.

The past year has been a surprisingly smooth journey for us (some have said that the first few years are the toughest?!). Perhaps it’s because we are living away from home in a foreign land and have only each other to lean on.

Throwback pictures to our wedding last year, 18 July 2015.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Looking back at the pictures, I’m thankful for so many things — family, friends, Agent D and above all, God. God has been faithfully joining the dots in my life to create one beautiful story.


So how did we celebrate our 1st year anniversary in Jakarta??

Agent D has been particularly busy these few weeks (well actually he has always been busy) so we decided to keep things simple. We had dinner at Asuka Japanese Dining @ JW Marriott Hotel, not far from where we live.

IMG_9115

Anniversary date night at Asuka Japanese Dining.

I must say their salmon sashimi is one of the best I’ve tasted in Jakarta. It is apparently air-flown fresh from Japan. Prices were on the steeper end (ouch) but oh well a wedding anniversary is a once-in-a-year-kind-of-thing right. JUST SPEND.

IMG_9073

My highlight of the night (IDR 250K).

This post isn’t intended to be on Asuka so I won’t go into all the foodie details. That said, both Agent D and I had a lovely dinner accompanied with impeccable service.

Some food photos to make you hungry hee hee.

I heard Asuka’s lunch sets are pretty good and affordable. You may want to check those out! For the dinner menu, our bill  for two came out to about Rp 1.5 juta (just for your info). 🙂

Agent D has this habit of checking his phone every 5 seconds (ok maybe I’m exaggerating) during dinner, which annoys me when I’m excitedly recounting to him my highlights of the day. For our anniversary night, he made special effort not to touch his phone – which I really appreciated. Instead, I was the one guiltily taking out my phone to snap all the food pictures. :/ :/ :/

IMG_9085

Slurping up this cup of goodness – a mixture of lychee, mango, orange, and yoghurt.

Sadly, the restaurant didn’t have desserts on the menu. What’s an anniversary without some cake right! (The anniversary’s just an excuse actually…I was having cake cravings heh.) So anyway, we bought a slice of blueberry cheese cake from Marriott’s bakery to indulge my sweet tooth. ❤

Timely enough, I finally got down to getting our cross-stitch wedding portrait framed. It was a handmade gift from my helper (back in Singapore) to us for our wedding. Her half-blind sister in Philippines did up the background, while she sewed in the words and date.

Just look at the number of x-stitches involved…#effort indeed. How apt that it was ready for collection on our anniversary day itself, one year on.

IMG_9100

Cross-stitch wedding gift, 18 July 2015.

I can’t wait to hang it up in the new home! 🙂

Before signing off, I’d like to share this poem © By M.S.Lowndes:

God has said
That we should not
Live our lives alone
But to have someone
Close by our side
Together to make a home

He gave to me
Someone like you
So I could share my life
Together we stand,
Whatever may come,
With God’s love inside.

Thank you, Agent D, for not having me live my life alone. Thanks for sharing life and making a home together with me. With God’s love inside, here’s to many many more years ahead. x

IMG_9116

You’re my favourite sunflower!

Leave a Reply

