Our Lil’ Housing Project

After the very painful defects inspection process which took longer than expected (you can read more about it here: Our New Nest & The Defects Inspection Process), our new home is finally coming together. WHEE.

As we are currently stationed in Jakarta, I had to resort to buying all my lights online and having them shipped to my parents’ home in Singapore. They would then help me pass the lights to my contractor for installation. Along the way, I would take snapshots of how I wanted the house to look and mom would liaise with the contractor on my behalf.

Here are some pictures of what has been done so far. Let me take you on a virtual house tour! 🙂

IMG_9287[1]

Living room.

IMG_9364[1]

Feature wall and TV console just completed today.

IMG_9278[1]

Pendant lights over dining area.

IMG_9283[1]

Birdcage pendant at main doorway entrance.

IMG_9194[1]

Tape lights for the kitchen (so I can spot worms hanging out on my vegetables!!)

IMG_9367[1]

Track lights for the study.

IMG_9257[1]

Master bedroom.

One good thing about being based in Jakarta is that we are able to collect pieces of artworks on our travels around Indonesia. Indonesians are such talented artists, really! More often than not, Agent D has to rein me in whenever I pass by an art shop/chance upon an online art store. :/

And the best thing yet?! Custom-made frames in Jakarta are inexpensive compared to Singapore! (See post on Lovely Custom-made Frames in Jakarta: Setia Jaya Frame & Mirror.)

Here are some art pieces I recently framed for the new home:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In addition to the paintings, I also lugged back the Scandinavian clock I bought in Jakarta. Agent D was like, “Aiyoh why you bother?!!”

Sigh guys don’t understand. zzz

IMG_9279[1]

Scandinavian clock up on the wall.

As well as the perfect wooden box for my daily caffeine fix. 🙂 🙂 🙂

IMG_9391[1]

Isn’t it so pretty!!

Will update again when my curtains are up. Crossing my fingers they’ll look okay on the walls! x

Leave a Reply

