INACRAFT 2017: Gifts, Housewares, Batik, and Much More

IMG_2822[1]

INACRAFT 2017.

TODAY was the first day of the 19th Jakarta International Handicraft Trade Fair (INACRAFT 2017) held at Jakarta Convention Center. The event spans five days and will run from 26 – 30 April 2017.

Officially the biggest and most complete exhibition (in Indonesia) of gifts, housewares, handicraft, batik, accessories etc, it is an event not to be missed. I was in Singapore last year during INACRAFT 2016 and was really sad. So glad to make it for this year’s. 🙂

IMG_2802[1]

Ticker counter at 11am.

True to my expectations, it was pretty crowded on the first day (and probably will be for the other days). I went at 11 a.m. and the crowd was already building up. It was worse by the time I left at 3 p.m. (yes four hours later!) – my driver took half an hour to make one tiny turn to pick me up at the lobby.

When I first entered the exhibition hall, I was overwhelmed. There were more than 1500 exhibitors and I didn’t know where to start. Oh by the way…after you are done shopping at Hall A, do continue walking on to Hall B – there are even more stalls there. If not for my appointment at 4 p.m., I’d definitely have stayed longer than four hours heh.

IMG_2814[1]

Layout for Exhibition Hall A. There is a separate plan for Hall B.

IMG_2803[1]

Upon entering Hall A.

I had in mind a few things to look out for at INACRAFT 2017 — batik, accessories, wood home decor, and storage boxes. And I’m happy to say I fulfilled my INACRAFT wish list.

IMG_2808[1]

Batik cloth and clothing.

There are so many stalls selling batik from all over Indonesia…from silk to cotton to tulis to cap – you’ll find yourself spoilt for choice.

IMG_2819[1]

Trendy batik flats (love the topmost right pair).

The housewares/home decor section was equally huge. There were stalls selling aromatherapy items, unique vases, wall art, teak furniture, wood carvings, artificial flowers, carpets, bath fittings, tableware, baskets, embroidered bed and cushion covers, just to name a few.

IMG_2810[1]

All things wicker.

IMG_2811[1]

Cutest handsewn stuffed animals.

IMG_2812[1]

Of beautiful food covers and bottle-lamps.

My advice would be to go early; the place was teeming with people around noon and it got a little harder to move around and browse stall items.

IMG_2809[1]

Crowd situation at noon.

There were a lot of stalls selling miscellaneous items like handmade gifts, stationery supplies, educational games, puzzles, gemstones, board games, pet clothing, and so on.

IMG_2817[1]

Indonesian food that looks realllly real. This got me hungry.

IMG_2813[1]

Onesies for your beloved kids pets.

IMG_2815[1]

Handmade statement necklaces.

IMG_2820[1]

Storage boxes for almost everything and anything.

There was an entire section of stalls run by various provinces around Indonesia; they sell many traditional items unique to their province. I find it amazing how so many people flew down from around Indonesia (with all their special items) just for INACRAFT Jakarta. 🙂

IMG_2818[1]

Ivana hails from Lampung and I insisted she take a picture. 😉

Here’s what I bought at INACRAFT 2017 (much to Agent D’s dismay):

  • Batik necklace and batik brooches, all handmade.
  • Wood serving plate and a wooden vase which I fell in love with at first sight. Can’t wait to pair it with a few stalks of baby’s breath.
  • Batik fabric to make a dress and possibly a matchy-matchy outfit with Agent D.
  • Storage/jewelry box for my accessories (isn’t it just so pretty!). Lovin’ the embroidered silk drawers.
  • And since I’ve been spending the husband’s $$$, I thought I’d better get him something too – a batik casual tee.

    IMG_2832

    The only thing I got for Agent D.


INACRAFT 2017

The 19th Jakarta International Handicraft Trade Fair

26 – 30 April 2017
Jakarta Convention Center, Jakarta

Leave a Reply

